SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION – SCHOOL DISTRICT OF COLBY MONDAY, APRIL 25, 2016 COLBY DISTRICT EDUCATION CENTER

The Special School Board Meeting on April 25, 2016, was called to order at 6:30 p.m. in the Colby District Education Center by Board President, William Tesmer. Members present were William Tesmer, Cheryl Ploeckelman, Deb Koncel, Seth Pinter, Lavinia Bonacker Jennifer Lopez and Eric Elmhorst. Also present were Superintendent Steven Kolden and Kristen Seifert. Student Board Representative Preston Mertins was absent.

The meeting notice was posted according to the requirements of the open meeting law.

Mr. Tesmer, Board President called for the Election of Officers: motion by Mrs. Koncel, seconded by Mr. Elmhorst to nominate existing officers to remain in current positions. No other nominations. Mr. Tesmer closed nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for: Mr. Tesmer for Board President, Mrs. Ploeckelman for Vice President, Mr. Elmhorst for Clerk, and Mr. Pinter for Treasurer. Roll call vote – Motion carried 7-0; Yes – Mrs. Koncel, Mrs. Bonacker, Mr. Tesmer, Mrs. Lopez, Mr. Pinter, Mr. Elmhorst, Mrs. Ploeckelman; No- None; Abstain-None.

Mr. Tesmer, Board President, made the following committee and position appointments:

Deb Koncel as WASB Annual Meeting Delegate. Alternate – Lavinia Bonacker.

Cheryl Ploeckelman as CESA #10 Annual Meeting Delegate. Alternate – Seth Pinter.

Bill Tesmer as Representative to the Colby IDEA Foundation, Inc.

Seth Pinter as Representative to the District Technology Committee.

Eric Elmhorst as Representative to the ESEA Plan Committee.

Seth Pinter, Board Treasurer, as Pension Plan Trustee.

Kristen Seifert as Recording Secretary for Board of Education Meetings.

Motion by Mrs. Ploeckelman, seconded by Mr. Pinter, to designate the Nicolet Bank, Advantage Community Bank and Forward Financial Bank as depositories for school district funds. Voice vote - motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Elmhorst, seconded by Mrs. Koncel to designate Ruder Ware as the Legal Counsel to the District. Voice vote – motion carried.

Motion by Mrs. Ploeckelman, seconded by Mr. Elmhorst to approve Johnson Block & Company for audit services. Voice vote – motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Elmhorst, seconded by Mrs. Lopez to designate the Tribune Phonograph as the official paper of publication for school district business. Voice vote – motion carried.

Motion by Mrs. Ploeckelman, seconded by Mrs. Koncel to approve the use of signature stamp/facsimile signatures for Board of Education officers. Voice vote – motion carried.

Mr. Tesmer, Board President, appointed the following members to Board of Education Standing Committees:

Policy & Curriculum Committee – Eric Elmhorst, Chair, Cheryl Ploeckelman, Deb Koncel.

Facilities & Transportation Committee – Bill Tesmer, Chair, Lavinia Bonacker, Cheryl Ploeckelman. Personnel Committee – Deb Koncel, Chair, Lavinia Bonacker, Jennifer Lopez. Financial Affairs Committee – Seth Pinter, Chair, Deb Koncel, Jennifer Lopez.

Motion by Mrs. Koncel, seconded by Mr. Elmhorst, to approve the 2016-17 Board Meeting schedule including dates, times, and locations as presented including annual meeting at Colby District Education Center. Voice vote - motion carried.

Motion by Mrs. Koncel, seconded by Mr. Elmhorst, to adjourn the meeting. Voice vote - motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:50 PM

Respectfully Submitted:

Eric Elmhorst, Clerk

Kristen Seifert, Recording Secretary